top of page

Ruffles and Trains Photography

I think one of the most challenging components of moving to a new town is forging new friendships. Acclimating yourself to your surroundings takes some adjusting as well, but finding those dire mommy friends can be daunting. One of the best decisions I ever made was enrolling Gianna in preschool a few months after we arrived in Oakland. I was pregnant with Mia and a break from playing dollhouse was essential! Gianna was in some desperate need of socialization as well. I hit the preschool jackpot upon entering Ponds Valley Preschool. The teachers were lovely and I was introduced to some wonderful and fascinating parents. Erin Galardi was among them. Erin, a mom of three, is one of the most strikingly beautiful women I have ever met, not to mention the sweetest. Articulate, calm, patient, and talented, this girl has it all together. We quickly bonded and sympathized over all things mommy! Over the next few years, I watched Erin take her love for photography and turn it into a career: Ruffles and Trains Photography. Starting your own business is an enormous undertaking, but she managed it seamlessly and flawlessly. I have framed pictures of my girls to prove it.

Women like Erin have been my inspiration. Their success, drive, determination, and fearlessness has provoked and ignited my decision to pursue Stay at Home Stylist. Needless to say, when Erin reached out and offered to catch up and take some pictures I eagerly accepted. Admittedly, I am humbled by her presence, but I was hopeful she could make me look half as good as her!

We had an absolute blast catching up on our busy lives and sharing stories about our families. Erin chose Lambert Castle as our destination. I felt like a fashion princess in an Italian villa. I had become so transported, often forgetting I was realistically standing on Paterson turf! She captured the true essence of my style quintessentially. Lots of laughs and smiles, primarily over my rapid outfit swaps behind my flimsy changing screen, as well as the fact that I lost my car keys multiple times over the 2 hour shoot! Erin took it all in stride, was the consummate professional, and still remains the patient and spectacular friend I met back in Ponds 7 years ago.

"Taking an image, freezing a moment, reveals how rich reality truly is." - Anonymous

Ruffles and Trains Photography

Meet Erin:

Focus: Family, lifestyle, and intimate weddings.

I use natural light and LOVE the golden hour at sunset.

I'm using my Master's in Education and photography skills to train busy mamas who want to document the everyday amazing of their own families and lives. This summer, I'm so excited to say that I'll be offering photography training designed for mamas on the go!

A sentiment that I hear over and over from so many inspiring mothers is that they often don't see themselves as beautiful! That's going to change with sunset sessions by me this spring and summer. My sessions will focus on empowering women out there with confidence, highlighting the beauty and strength of motherhood.

For more information or to schedule a session contact Erin via email:

bottom of page