top of page

Back to the Basics

I often wear prints and florals because they are dainty and fun. I am embracing my inner lady with these soft and flirty patterns, but I know that many don't share my sentiments. Florals, in particular, are just not for everyone. For those of you who prefer a more minimal and simplistic wardrobe, this post is for you!

Since I started blogging, I have learned a lot more about fashion and trends. While some styles quickly fall to their demise, there are a few that stand the test of time. The perfect tee remains one of them. For the longest time, I struggled with this notion. I didn't feel like a tee exemplified anything more than a causal or even lazier look. Boy, was I wrong. A tee is realistically one of the most versatile pieces you will ever own. For starters, they are comfortable. When you are a mom, this is key. Secondly, they are flattering. Looser in fit, they don't cling to our bodies, but rather work to hide our imperfections. They also accentuate our assets nicely too! V-necks or slub-linen, they can be tucked in to a pair of jeans, a skirt or shorts, over leggings, with sweatpants, or even with a blazer for meetings. I particularly  love them under a cardigan in the Fall. They are sexy without being overly feminine. Lastly, they won't break the bank. Stores like Target and Old Navy carry a ton of styles, colors, and variety at very affordable prices. Cheap and easy is the perfect combo, right?!

I spice my tee's up with a great statement necklace, earrings, or a scarf. It transforms this casual look into an effortless masterpiece. These accessories also incorporate color. For a date night, an interesting pump adds so much dimension and style to a classic tee as well. Throw a clutch in your hand and you are good to go!

Now that the world has caught on to its greatness, they have designed and taken the "simple tee" to new fashion levels. Ruffles are all the rage. I am obsessed and have jumped on this bandwagon. The one I am wearing below is sold out but I am linking some similar styles. I have a feeling there will be many more of these in my closet this season!

If you are currently in the middle of a closet purge as you make room for Fall, I certainly advise you to stock up on some tees in a variety of colors. I promise that they will come in handy for many years to come!

"Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication"- Leonardo da Vinci

My earrings are baublebar (Target).  I love them but they are super delicate. I went out with my friends last night and I lost the back of an earring. I have a new hack: Make sure your BFF is a teacher! They carry all sorts of useful supplies in their bags. She didn't have an eraser but a hot glue gun piece sufficed! Thanks for saving my fashion emergency Noel!!!!  

 Click on pictures to be linked.

Those that know me know that I am obsessed with television and the 80's! My favorite childhood sitcoms bring back so many wonderful memories. The Golden Girls in particular, reminds me of sleepovers at my Nanas' house. We spent many nights eating snacks and watching episodes at her kitchen table. When I saw this tee at Target it was an instant must-have! "Stay Golden." This one is for you Nana. You were and always will be golden in my eyes.

Monogrammed Necklace Use code: stayathomestylist for 15% off and free shipping! 

Watch Use code: stayathomestylist15 for 15% off 

bottom of page